top of page

Want to Become Catholic?

The Order of Christian Initiation of Adults (OCIA) process is an introduction to Catholicism culminating in reception of the three sacraments of initiation: Baptism, Eucharist and Confirmation.

This process is a journey of faith which welcomes adults, age 18 and over, into the Roman Catholic Church. 

The Order of Christian Initiation of Adults adapted for children (OCIC)


OCIC is for children beyond the 2nd grade. They fall in one of three general categories:

  • They have not been baptized.

  • They were baptized in another faith tradition, but their parents wish them to enter into the faith and sacramental life of the Church through Reconciliation and Eucharist, and Confirmation

  • They were baptized Catholic, but have not received formal instruction in the faith and missed the reception of one of the sacraments at the usual time.

RCIA logo-3-LOGO RCIA.png

Please contact:

RCIA Coordinator


OCIA 2024

What is OCIA?

OCIA (Order of Christian Initiation of Adults), formerly called "Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA)," is the process through which one becomes a full member of the Roman Catholic Church.

Who is OCIA for?

OCIA is designed primarily for those desiring Baptism – the beginning of the life of a Christian. For those who have already been baptized Christians, we will evaluate their needs and appropriately involve them in the process. For those that are already baptized, please refer to the section titled “Ministry to the Baptized.”

The Five Stages of OCIA

The Period of Inquiry

Ask questions, discern, and learn about a life of faith in Christ and the Catholic Church.

The Period of Catechumenate 

The catechumens now gather with the Catholic community on Sundays for Mass. 

The Period of Purification & Illumination 

This period corresponds to Lent, the six weeks of preparation before Easter. This period is a prayerful time for catechumens, who are now known as the “Elect,” as they prepare for the moment they enter into Full Communion with the Catholic Church in the Sacraments of Initiation. This period is begun with the Rite of Election and Call to Continuing Conversion, which is celebrated at the Cathedral of the Sacred Heart in Newark. Throughout Lent, special prayers are offered at Sunday Masses for the elect and candidates – these are called “scrutinies.”

The Celebration of the Sacraments of Initiation

Celebrated at the Easter Vigil. Through the Sacrament of Baptism, a person becomes a member of the Body of Christ. By anointing the person with the Sacred Chrism (Confirmation), one is sealed by the power of the Holy Spirit.  At the same time the person receives the Eucharist (Communion) for the first time. This marks full membership in the Catholic Church.

The Period of Mystagogy 

The Period of Mystagogy lasts from Easter Sunday until the completion of the Easter Season at Pentecost. At the end of mystagogy, one reaches the end of the OCIA. This final period reminds you that the initiation process is just that: initiation, not graduation, which means a commitment to a lifelong journey of conversion.

Ministry To The Baptized

This process will help lead an already baptized person into Full Communion with the Catholic Church through the sacraments of Confirmation and the Most Holy Eucharist. 

What is OCIC?

The Order of Christian Initiation of Adults can be adapted for children, generally age 7+. 
Children who have been baptized in another Christian faith, or have been baptized Catholic, but have not received First Eucharist, or are missing a sacrament are welcome into the OCIC journey.

bottom of page